Teacher Login

KnowAtom's Blog

STEM and the Four Levels of Readiness

May 5, 2017 by Francis Vigeant

The Next Generation Science Standards require a very specific kind of resources that allow students to achieve mastery of the standards.

Mastery means that students have developed skills and knowledge that they can take what they have learned and apply it to new scenarios and contexts, which allows them to tackle any problem or question, rather than just predetermined ones.

Because of this shift, it is important to understand that not all curriculum and resources create mastery readiness because not all resources prepare students to think critically and develop transferable skills.

In general, curriculum and resources can be categorized into four levels relating to their ability to create "readiness."

Continue reading

Topics: STEM Readiness

Teach to Transform with Free Next Generation Science PD Sessions. Learn More!

Posts by Topic

see all

Stay Up to Date With Our Latest Posts

Pick How Often: